top of page
  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle

Valentine's Day & What It Means To Me

Good Evening Everyone,


Hope you are having a good week so far. Those who follow me on Snapchat (joanna.stich) know that I absolutely hate Tuesdays. Tuesdays for me are the most "pointless" days of the week. Just take a look: Mondays have to start the week, Wednesday is a hump day, Thursdays are almost Fridays and Fridays are Fridays - you get the jist. But Tuesdays - there's nothing appealing about them.


Anyhow, back on track with today's post. Every Valentine's Day I find myself thinking about what's really important in our relationship and what can be improved. You see, Valentine's Day isn't always about showing on social media who got the biggest bunch of flowers or the biggest diamond. Yes, of course if you have the means go for it, but if you treat Valentine's Day as it should be, time spend with your other half and maybe a glass of wine would be the best way to go about it. It is about devoting time to each other, of which we seem to be running out of with all the social media and technology "distracting us" these days.

I have to admit, I have been taking my relationship for granted lately and I hate the fact that I did. I forgot what's important and how to achieve happiness and make himself happy.



Joanna Stich Engagement Shoot

(Picture Credit: Joao Mascarenhas)


So I took a step back for couple of days, from my social media and spent time on talking to my other half. You cannot even imagine how big of a difference to your mental health talking can make.

Don't get me wrong, there of course will be better/worse days in our relationship and it's never going to be perfect no matter how much I wished it was but all we can do is work on it really hard if we really love someone.


Valentine's Day is known as commercial cash cow in the retail industry, however I do believe that even the "busiest" of couples manage to do something special on the day whether it's grabbing a late dinner or having movie night.

Personally for me it's never about the gift. Would I want him to buy me well thought out gift I have been lusting after for weeks? Of course, but lets be honest here (most) of men are men and unless you write it out for them and tell them where to buy it you won't be getting it.

So, as I said for me it's not about the gift more about the gesture.


Joanna Stich Engagement Shoot

(Picture Credit: Joao Mascarenhas)


What does it mean for you? Have you been swept away by your "bae" or have you had a romantic Netflix & Chill night? Perhaps, some of you might have spent it with your families and that's the best unconditional kind of love for sure.


Whatever it was, I hope you didn't spend it alone and took a moment to really appreciate the love you have in your life.




Till next time,

Lots of Love

Joanna xoxo

bottom of page