top of page
  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle

Recipe: Healthy Butternut Squash Soup


Good Afternoon Dolls,


Recently I was out for lunch in O'Briens Cafe and the soup of the day was butternut squash. As I have never tried it before I decided to go for it and it was delicious! Well worth the "risk" of trying :-) I have to admit I am very careful and clingy when it comes to trying out new foods in restaurants, as often if I don't like it I obviously still have to pay for it and then it's a bit of a waste to be honest.


Anyhow, I decided to research some recipes, and of course tweak it to my liking! I have to say it was quite a big hit in my house, especially that himself doesn't eat most of things! At least in the form of a soup it will give him the required nutrients and his 5 a day!


The recipe:


2 Butternut Squash

1 Potato

1 Onion

1 Carrot

1 Parsnip

2 Cloves of Garlic

1L of Vegetable Stock (I used Knorr's - The best brand)

Croutons

Salt & Pepper


Method:


Into a big pot put in the diced onion and fry on low fat oil for 2-3 minutes. Add diced potato, carrot, parsnip and butternut squash into the mix and fry for further 2-3 minutes to enrich the taste. Add crushed garlic cloves and season to your liking and then add the vegetable stock.

Cook for another 25-30 minutes or until the vegetables are soft. Using a blender mix the soup until it's consistency is cream. You can garnish the soup with parsley or scallions and add croutons to make it more filling or serve with homemade brown bread.

(Image Credit: Pexels)

The preparations should not take more than 25 minutes! It's extremely easy to make. The only thing I had difficulty with is peeling the butternut squash! Man, it's like peeling a pumpkin! I even googled the methods and it still took me forever. So if anyone has any insight on how to properly and easily peel butternut squash.... Let me know!


Thanks for reading & happy cooking!




As Always,

Lots of Love,

Joanna xoxo

bottom of page