top of page
  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle

The Perfect Gift This Christmas: Supporting Irish Businesses

When I was a little girl, I got 3 short story books about Angels living in heaven from Santa. These books had hand painted pictures within, they were only about 15 pages long and the writing was simple and BIG. Every night I'd take these books to bed with me and even though I couldn't read yet, I'd keep looking through them and in my head making up stories about their lives based on the beautiful drawings and shiny book covers.

After week or two, I started to recognize the letters and believe it or not, I thought myself how to read! Once I knew I had the books down to a T, I called my mam into the room and read the books out loud to her. Safe to say she was shocked! She couldn't believe how I managed to learn all on my own, but in fairness you give a child a book....


FromTheOuterSide Blog

FromTheOuterSide Blog

In this day and age where technology is available to almost everyone and it's around every corner, the era of reading is slowly fading away. This is so sad to witness. Am I the only one who loves a feel and smell of an old book?

As a result, I have teamed up with Jim Bartley from Cork, who wrote two children's books based on stories he told his children when they were little.






The stories describe Adventures of two mice Pippy & Dippy who live inside a grandfather's clock in the hallway of a family home. The first book is a compilation of stories of their mischief inside the house & the second one when they explore the "real world". I have read those books cover to cover and for a moment I felt like a child again. What more could you want from a book? Books are there to take you to another world for awhile, to forget the troubles and reality.

The stories are short, which is perfect for parents with impatient children, or those who don't have a great attention span. The writing is simple, intriguing and upbeat. As I have written above, for children who try to be independent the writing is very clear and lettering is big which makes it easy to understand the sentences.


FromTheOuterSide Blog

FromTheOuterSide Blog


FromTheOuterSide Blog

Local lady Maeve Keane drew the illustrations for his book, she has done an amazing job and simultaneously Jim supported another Irish Business. It's so important to support each others ventures, especially that it could be your neighbor or relative! Often I come across people, not necessarily bloggers but in all areas of business that think if they recommend/support another business it will take away from their own. To be honest, I think there is plenty out there to be going around for everyone, and with support of others your business will do nothing other than strive! Especially, in an era where giant chain stores are taking over word of mouth is gold. This is why I was delighted to team up with Jim, as I love books and hopefully I will pass this passion onto my kids one day!


These books will make an amazing stocking filler/Christmas gift for your little ones and they are also practical & an educational gift. The books retail at €10.00 each or €17.00 for 2. You can order them just in time for Christmas on their Pippy & Dippy Website and you will get free shipping!


If you believe in supporting each other and encouraging growth, please give Jim's Facebook Page a Like and Share this post, so more parents can buy an amazing gift this year! I have decided to do a Post-Christmas giveaway of both books for one lucky reader! The winner will be announced on December 31st just in time for New Fresh Year!


Head over to my Facebook or Instagram Account for details!


FromTheOuterSide Blog

FromTheOuterSide Blog



As Always,

Lots of Love,

Joanna xoxo

*This is not a sponsored post, however I did receive the books as a gift*





bottom of page