top of page
  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle

Wedding Plans Update

Hi there,


Today's post will be my very first update on our wedding plans! Those of you who follow me for awhile now, know that planning my wedding has become my biggest nightmare.... Yes, you heard me right.

I feel overwhelmed with the amount of work that goes into planning a wedding abroad and I just feel so lost in it!


Today, I will talk about few bits I have picked up along the way at a reasonable price. Believe me, the little bits can often become the most expensive bits! Here are few things that you can buy on the cheaper end it won't affect your overall look of the day.



Pink Tulle Skirt



- Dress Hangers

When you do a research on your photographer 99% of them will have pictures of dresses whether it's the Wedding Dress or Bridesmaid Dresses hanging before they put them on. I never thought twice about investing any money into it, but it does look nice to have something decent to hang them on. I bought my hangers in Dealz at €1.49 for a 2 pack. They are all different colors and they look like silk, adding a bit of "glamour". You can shop these here.


Wedding Dress Hanging


- Photo Frames

When I started "designing" my dream wedding on Pinterest I came across number of lovely quotes/sayings that couples had displayed around their venue whether it would be with information or just simply to add to the look of the place. I bought couple of them, not 100% sure yet what I will use them for but they are so adorable. They don't look like a budget item and they have a very vintage yet classy look to them. I also bought them in Dealz for €1.50 each, you can shop them here.


- Guest Book

Recently we have been at a wedding, where instead of a guestbook you had a tree with fingerprints. It's a lovely idea as then you can frame it and hang on a wall, however the ink wouldn't come off and everyone was walking with blue fingers! Haha. I am very clingy, therefore I opted for a classic blank guest book. I bought mine in Easons for €17.99. There were few options available in various price ranges. You can shop them here.


- Cake Table Initials

I have received many tips from friends, family even strangers who have gotten married. One of them was "don't bother with small things, nobody notices" - I found that to be not quite correct. Every time my wedding planner does a wedding in our venue she sends me pictures afterwards, to give me ideas what can be done with the place. I have noticed the small stuff is what makes the big difference to the decor and perhaps it could save money if done on a budget. I wanted to have our initials at the cake table, however I was not prepared to pay €15.00 a letter in various stationery shops. I finally came across wooden initials in Art & Hobby Shop in Liffey Valley Shopping Centre @ €2.95 each. I bought 2 of them and painted them white at home saving myself €24.00. Voila! You can shop their letter range here.


Wedding Table Decor

Wedding Table Decor

- Candles/Tealights

As the wedding is abroad and there is no Penneys there, I have to buy everything in advance and bring it over. On of the days when I was in Penneys I saw a bunch of tealights in little see-through jars with handles. Perfect for hanging them on a rope or on one of those metal stands. So, I bought a bunch of them @ €1.50 each. To be honest I still don't exactly know where I will put them yet but they won't go to waste. Perhaps I will line them up along the swimming pool at out venue? Who knows!

You can shop them here.

I also had no intention of investing money into buying personalized church unity candles. As much of a perfectionist I am, I can let go of the reigns a little and do some things on the cheaper side. I bought simple white candles in Tiger for €1.00 each. You can shop them here.


White Candles


- Banners

"Mr & Mrs" and "Just Married" are the two banners I decided to opt for. One of them can be divided into two and perhaps hung up on our chairs and the "Just Married" behind us on the wall? It's all small detail that looks well! You don't have to spend a fortune on these, all you have to do is think ahead of the plan. Why? Because I bought these two on WISH - Chinese website and the delivery can take up to 2 months or more. So if you are prepared you can have the nicest stuff! You can shop their range here. (You do need an account to view their range).

- Bathroom Baskets

I have been looking for the bathroom baskets for awhile, as I couldn't find any in our color scheme. Again Penneys had some lovely ones, but nothing that matched what I needed! Eventually I bought our baskets in Heatons. They were quite inexpensive at €10.00 for 2. As far as I am aware they are currently sold out.

I hope these little tips/tricks will come handy to some of you. Let me know in comments on my Facebook/Instagram what items did you buy for your wedding on a budget. After all sharing is caring!

As Always,

Lots of Love

Joanna xoxo

bottom of page