top of page
  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle

10 Signs it's Officially Christmas!

Happy Sunday!


I am currently tucked up in bed, curing my hangover! Oh, in mid twenties you don't recover as fast as in your teens....for sure! Since it's December and we can officially talk about CHRISTMAS I thought I'd jump on the bandwagon of Christmas related articles.

One thing you should know about me, I adore Christmas and everything associated with it and I don't deal with grinches!


I have compiled ten of my favorite things that shout out: It's Christmas Time! Hope you enjoy it.



1. Hot Chocolate


Picture Credit: Pexels


This has got to be the first sign of festivities. When the short days and long nights creep in with the cold winds, hot coco with marshmallows are in all the coffee shops! Want to know a secret? - I hate hot chocolate! I absolutely love the idea of it, but I don't do milk or any sort of chocolate...


2. Mulled Wine


Picture Credit: www.bywajtu.pl


Now, this is something definitely up my street! In Kraków, Poland where I am originally from Christmas Markets are huge as our market square is the largest in Europe. Mulled Wine is a Christmas Tradition just as many other regional goods. On the market square you will see huge barrels (same as picture above) in which the person who sells mulled wine sits. You have to knock on the little window and they will open it and serve the wine to you. It's really adorable and definitely one of a kind! Mulled Wine in Polish is called "Grzaniec" - hence the writing on the barrel.



3. Ice - Skating



All the major shopping centers will open huge ice rinks for families to enjoy. Ice Skating is always associated with winter season and this definitely reminds me of Christmas while i lived in New York! Ice skating in the Rockefeller Center under the Big Tree, Central Park whilst the trees were covered in snow was a real life winter wonderland! In and around Dublin there are many known ice rinks such as Blanchardstown, RDS and Dundrum. Currently Living Social have a 50% off ice-skating & skate hire in Dundrum On Ice! It's a great deal especially for larger families.



4. X-Mass FM

When the radio starts to play Mariah Carey and George Michael..... is there anything more festive? I don't think so! X-Mass FM has been officially turned on this Monday! The frequency is 105.2 for Dublin; Cork 106.7; Limerick 105.5; Galway 87.7 & Kildare 88.1. X-Mass FM is currently on my "speed dial" in my car - Yes, I am this excited!



5. Coca-Cola Truck



When the ad comes on TV, you know it's.... Christmas! Every year the truck is stationed in different places around the country to give children a chance to take a photo with it. For Free! I got my picture last year after being stuck in traffic for almost 2 hours on the way to see it. I am definitely devoted! The Truck Tour started on November 26th and full details on dates & locations can be found here.



6. Christmas Jumpers


Picture Credit: Google


What's Christmas without making a fool out of yourself by wearing super embarrassing jumper? Bridget Jones sure knows all about it! They pop up in every clothes shop and are ridiculously cheap!

This year Penneys teamed up with The Late Late Toy Show and for every purchased Christmas Jumper 70% of the proceeds will go to a charity. This way you kill two birds with one stone!




7. Speaking of The Late Late Toy Show

This is the most watched program in Ireland! It aired this Friday 02.12 at 9.35 on RTE1. All kids (big & small) tune in to see what are the top trending toys this year. Most of the children base their Santy letter on the toy show! I remember I always wanted a doll house and never got one... Santy obviously knew I didn't need it as I actually hated playing with Barbie Dolls ;-)



8. Fluffy Socks & PJs

Now, if this doesn't speak for itself. Penneys is the GO TO shop to get these and they are essential piece in every girls closet. Shop Penneys range, here.


Picture Credit: Google



9. Lighting the Fire

All the Irish mammies will have the fire on during cold winter evenings with a nice cuppa!


10. The X-Factor


Picture Credit: Hello Magazine


Last but not least... For a Christmas fanatic like me, the beginning of X-Factor is the beginning of: Fires, Cosy PJs, Tea, Hot Chocolate, Take Aways and in general being cosy!

I don't care what you say, but when the X-Factor starts, we are allowed to talk about the C Word!



I hope you guys enjoyed this blog post as much as I enjoyed writing it! What are some of your Major Christmas Signs?





As Always,

Lots of Love,

Joanna xoxo

bottom of page