top of page
  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle

Face Cream Review: ALDI vs Holland & Barrett

Good Afternoon All,


I hope you are doing well. I am back with yet another beauty post! I am going to start doing more reviews on beauty & fashion as that's the feedback I have been getting from you guys!


Those of you who follow me for awhile will remember the Dr. Organic Pomegranate Eye Cream I bought in Holland & Barrett back in August. This cream has been recommended to me by a Make Up Artist and I can't say I was loving it! To be completely clear - there was nothing wrong with the product, however I believe the volume of antioxidants and vitamins used in the cream were just too high. To clarify, when the make up artist has used this cream on me once as a base for my foundation my skin absorbed it well, without creating a shine. This cream was for mixed skin types.

After using the cream on daily basis (as prescribed on the box) my skin started to sting and felt very thin. Perhaps long term use of this cream didn't agree with my skin type. I wasn't a huge fan of the scent quite similar to roses, however I was not aware pomegranate smelled similarly to roses. The good side of this product is that you really need the tiniest bit of it for full coverage, therefore you get the most out of it. It is Q10 and it is Anti Ageing, perhaps that's the factor contributing to the "tingling" of my skin. The product is €10.00 and lasts about 3 months & I used it twice a day.



Once I ran out of Dr. Organic Cream I have decided to give the ALDI "Lacura" Face Range a go, as I have heard from quite a few people that they are great. As they are super affordable (like most of things in Aldi) at €1.99 per jar, I decided to opt for two: Day & Night Range.


Both of these creams are Anti-Wrinkle Creams and are Q10, just like the Dr. Organic. The Day Cream is SPF20, which is a good factor and it is the optimal SPF during winter season.

Both creams are very nourishing and hydrating. I have noticed that my skin becomes a bit shiny at the end of the day as these face creams are not specialized to a skin type, unlike the Dr. Organic.

My skin does feel much better after using them and I can already tell you that you have to use a good bit for full coverage of your face, however at €1.99 per jar i don't really mind.


To be quite honest, I will probably continue with Aldi Skincare Range for awhile until i find something that works well for my skin type, as I want the best possible for my skin. The Lacura skin range is affordable and it is great for a short term use. I probably wouldn't use it as my cream of choice simply because I'd like to protect my skin and avoid wrinkles the best way possible.

DAY CREAM

NIGHT CREAM

I hope you guys found this useful, as I know many people are looking for affordable products these days! This should share some light on the Aldi range for you.

As Always,

Lots of Love

Joanna xoxo

bottom of page