top of page
  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle

Hair Care Update: My Hair with Envy Extensions

Hello Dolls,


I am finally back posting regularly and hopefully soon enough my blog will start taking proper shape!

Today's post is my 6 week update on my hair extensions & the hair products I am using to achieve best results.


Those of you who are following me for awhile know that Hair with Envy is the only salon in Ireland doing extensions with Zenedaá´¿ wefts - an exclusive Hair with Envy brand. Jackie, the owner brought this technique from Australia where she was thought by Stacey who actually started it. Hair with Envy is the first specialized hair extension salon in Ireland. Stephanie O'Quigley from SnappedUp Blog also uses Hair with Envy extensions. Because of their uniqueness Stephanie had to get them taken out due to her upcoming move to New York (jealous!) where she will be unable to avail of them.




Hair with envy Salon
Hair with envy Salon



























My 6 Week Update

Naturally all extensions grow with your own hair, therefore every 5-7 weeks you will require maintenance. Maintenance means, the hairdresser takes them out and moves them back to the top of your roots. During this process any uneven hair can be trimmed and you can review if the products work for you and how your natural hair reacts to the extensions. The main purpose is to clean up your natural hair and ensure it's kept strong and healthy.



Naturally, they may not be everyone's cup of tea however I strongly believe you should at least try them! You just need to get used to the added weight, as it's extra hair on your head - obviously!


Couple of things I have learned along the way:

  • You should clip your hair up after washing - don't let them hang down when they are wet as the added weight may cause a slight headache when not being used to it.

  • Never go to bed with wet extensions - It will make them look greasy in the morning

  • Use a clip/bobbin when going to bed, it prevents the hair from breaking



Essential Hair Care

It is important to look after your extensions in order to make them last just like you would with your own hair. Most hairdressers will tell you, once looked after well, the weft can last even up to 18 months, therefore you get great wear for your value!


The products used in Hair with Envy Salon are called Saryna Key. This brand uses Shea Nuts as one of their ingredients, they come from an African tree called Shea-Karite and it takes up to 50 years for the tree to produce a Nut. They are as natural as they can get!


Currently I use the shampoo & the treatment from their range, as well as my own conditioner. I use John Frieda conditioner simply because it straightens my hair, therefore it minimizes the use of a straightener. I have been using it for few years now and it works well for me. The products in the salon are of very good value, especially for their size.

I use the hair treatment once a week, and leave it in my hair for approximately 10 minutes while I'm showering.


Image Credit: Saryna Key


Some of you have been asking on Snapchat whether you can still use the likes of Coconut Oil and similar products for nourishment, and the answer is yes - absolutely! You can treat the extensions the same as you would your natural hair. This is the greatest thing about them!




Personal Reflection

Primarily hair extensions give you volume and length. They work well for anyone with damaged hair and someone with very fine hair. For me personally, they gave me the confidence and "feel good" about myself. Each girl wants to feel special and noticed by others and they definitely did that for me.

I feel confident, strong and enjoy looking at myself in the mirror. No, not in a vain way!



That's all for now. You can email me on fromtheouterside@gmail.com or Snapchat me with any further questions!




As always,

Lots of Love,

Joanna xoxo



bottom of page