top of page
  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle

The Dirty Truth About Working in Customer Service Industry

Good Evening Everyone!


I have had a major blogging break and it's time to come back with a bang! Joking... This time round my post will be slightly different to everything I have written so far. It will be based on my experience working in the customer service industry. I often find myself reading blogs that have more personal bits in them, as it really makes you get an idea of what the blogger is like and what they really are about. I feel it connects you to the writer in a way.


(Image credit: iStock)


So to start off I will give you a brief summary of how I got involved in the industry.


When I was 15 years old I got my first job picking up glasses in a nightclub. It was supposed to be summer job, however I ended up working there for 2 years, and quit simply because my leaving cert was coming around and I was trying to convince myself (and my mam) that I needed to study.


Once I graduated and started college doing International Hospitality Management I had no time to work with the study load we had and ended up getting a seasonal Christmas job in a supermarket. I hated every minute of retail, stocking shelves and Christmas crazy customers who acted like animals at best of times. Few days before Christmas we even stayed open until midnight!!


When my contract was finished I vowed I will never again work in retail..... and I ended up in a muffin factory! Yes, this was my summer job after my 1st year of college. Working on the line of chocolate filled muffins with caramel toppings. Safe to say I have not eaten a muffin since and cannot stomach the look of them.


I have then decided I was 18 and I needed to start looking into jobs that I potentially wanted to "adult" into. Because I was studying hospitality naturally I started looking around hotels.


That's when i got my first job in a large hotel. I will stop right there, as I am not going to disclose any names or places for obvious reasons. Since then, I have worked in 7 different hotels on two continents.


One thing that comes to mind is: WHY? Why did I do this to myself? Working in the customer service industry is the most ungrateful job.


Here are few "fun" facts & most common situations you will come across in customer service:


You will find that those who have never worked in a service industry are the people who are the biggest A***oles when it comes to treating front line staff. FACT.


Every issue ends with "I want to speak to the manager" which you can translate into "If I make big enough noise I will get free stuff"


People think that reception holds plates, toothpaste, menus, change, tea and coffee making facilities, sandwiches, toilet paper, spare lost property glasses etc.


You can't just call any extension that will pick up and order room service, no. This is sales office PLEASE HOLD and I will transfer you to the correct department.


People call the hotel and ask about bus services from X to Y and you are in a town Z - This is not a tourist office.


No, I don't speak German - let me get you your tour guide. **Keeps Talking**


Just because you throw €100 at me doesn't mean your Guinness will settle any faster, but thanks for the tip.


Do you know who I am? - Yes, you are a valued customer just like 10 others who were here before you who are waiting to be looked after.


Sorry, I will not assist you if you are talking on the mobile phone to someone else.


**clicking fingers in restaurant**


Eats entire meal and then complains about awful taste. (!)


________________________________________________________________________________________________


These are only some of situations I have encountered. Sometimes you have good days and come across lovely people, especially elderly people who value your service, but in this day and age it's hard to come across.

I can honestly say, I have never been so stressed in my life having worked in service industry! I was constantly angry, stressed, tired and just didn't want to speak to anyone! This really affected my personal life.


If I can give one tip to anyone, is before you decide to scream or complain at a poor boy/girl think twice of how horrible their day might be going and if they made a mistake it may be easily rectified.


For any fellow hoteliers/service industry people, if you liked my post, take a look at this New York website called "How May we Hate You?" - they have the funniest stories about customer requests!


For those who are still in the industry, hang on! It does get better... eventually, when you change jobs! :)


I hope you enjoyed this blog post, if you could give me some feedback whether or not you liked it on my Facebook or Instagram I'd appreciate it.



As Always,

Lots of Love,

Joanna xoxo




*The above situations & opinions are my personal past experiences and do not involve my current workplace.




bottom of page