top of page
  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle

How to Deal with Wedding Suppliers: Part 2

Hi there,


I hope you guys liked my last post! I have decided to do it in two parts as I didn't want to bore you to death :-) Lets jump straight to it so!



  • VENUE

As we all know, we choose our venue based on that "oh wow" factor or the gut feeling we get when we see it for the first time and our heart starts pounding. We never think about people who work there and the person who will eventually end up being your point of contact and go to person for a long time prior to your big day.

Prior to viewing the venue it's important to read reviews whether it's on wedding websites or Tripadvisor to make sure your big day won't become more stressful than usual by dealing with incompetent staff. As bad as it sounds, sometimes no matter what the venue offers; it's not worth the stress if it has bad reputation.



  • WEDDING PLANNER

If you have stayed awake while reading my last blog post, you will know that I am getting married abroad. We decided to get married in Portugal simply because of the guaranteed weather (and to give people an excuse for a mini holiday!)

We have hired a wedding planner Patricia & Carin from Glamour Algarve Weddings as it's very hard and stressful having to do it all alone from a different country and with a language barrier when it comes to dealing with suppliers.

We met Patricia & Carin at a wedding showcase in the RDS back in 2015. They have recently started their company and I am very confident in their work.

Hiring a wedding planner in Ireland isn't a trend just yet and if you are a control freak (like i am) and want to do everything yourself then definitely don't hire one because you might as well be throwing your money away.

At the end they will become your Go To people and it will be definitely a love/hate relationship.



  • HAIR/MAKE-UP

This is something very individual. Each one of us has different skin and hair type and I am sure we imagined more than once how we would like to look on our wedding day.

For example for me location has a huge impact on how I would like to go about my look on the day. As my wedding is in the middle of June, the temperatures will most likely reach approximately 25 - 30 degrees. Ideally I would like to have a minimal make-up and my hair style "up" to avoid any malfunction. The stress of the day itself and added heat can cause quite a wardrobe malfunction and I wouldn't want my face to look all sweaty and shiny.

It is important to give all these details to the professionals you will be working with, and hair and make up trial is a must. Also, bringing some visual aids such as photos or samples would definitely work well and give the supplier a starting off point.

I'd also strongly advise to use someone recommended by friends or family; alternatively go to a salon with a good reputation.


From The Outer Side
From The Outer Side





















From The Outer Side

(Images sourced from Pinterest)



  • TRANSPORT

Last but not least, don't forget about transportation for yourself and your guests. Whoever you decide to go with, ask around previous couples as for this supplier time management is key. Literally. Make sure they have your day schedule and you have their personal contact details!! The same applies for transportation for your guests.



If you'd like me to discuss anything further or would like me to blog about any other topics wedding related let me know!


As always, Lots of Love

Joanna xo xo

bottom of page