top of page
  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle

Microdermabrasion at Miss Elle's

Hello everyone,


Today's post will focus on my recent facial treatment called Microdermabrasion. I received a lot of questions about it and I wanted to give it a couple of weeks to see if my skin feels any different and what my thoughts on it are.


Miss Elle's is a local beauty salon in Clane, Co. Kildare. As always I try to support Irish businesses and this time was no different. I wanted to get a deep facial before the wedding to really cleanse my skin and get rid of any blackheads. Yes i said it blackheads! It's natural we all have blocked pores due to using wrong moisturizers and various make up products and general daily basis stuff.


Ellen owns Miss Elle's and she has been in the beauty industry for over 20 years now, therefore I was confident she can advise me on the most appropriate treatment I require. We decided to go ahead with Microdermabrasion.

It's a common knowledge that as we grow older our skin is exposed to Sun Rays, UV Lights, etc. Microdermabrasion helps to reduce wrinkles, fine lines, "crows feet" and if done on regular basis it may help reduce skin pigmentation overtime.




Pigmentation appears from not wearing SPF Foundation or SPF cream on your face. There are sun rays out there at all times even on a cloudy days therefore 24 hour protection is necessary. SPF of 50 is recommended on your face no matter the day.


Microdermabrasion method does not use any chemicals on your skin and it is completely non-invasive. It uses suction with tiny little crystals to remove the top layer of dead skin cells making your skin so shiny and definitely looking healthy. The procedure takes approximately 1 hour.


The process began by cleansing my skin entirely, mascara included. The process itself is not really painful, it feels like a tiny but very strong hoover sucking on your skin. Those who have delicate skin will have red marks for couple of hours later and it's always recommended to get this procedure carried out on a day where you have nothing else planned so this way you can leave your skin to breathe for the night.


Once Ellen went over my face twice (sensitive areas such as around the eyes are done once) she then put on a mask on my face to really hydrate my skin. She used the Dermalogica power recovery masque, as I have Rosetta (gene by which my cheeks burn up fiery red in warm surroundings or when I am stressed - they heat up my entire body and it can get quite uncomfortable).


As the masque was on my skin I received a lovely shoulder and neck massage which was so DIVINE! It was just what I needed and it was definitely an unexpected treatment such a lovely little extra!


The treatment really left my skin so super hydrated for days afterwards and it made me not put make up on and be as natural as possible. Now until the wedding I only put my make up on if I am going somewhere nice to try to keep it as cleansed as possible.


I definitely can feel the difference in my skin, especially when applying my make up my skin feels much more hydrated and the make up applies so smoothly. I'd definitely recommend it for deep cleansing facial.


After my treatment Ellen recommended range of products for my skin type by Dermalogica and I got a lot of samples to try them out before committing to purchase. Dermalogica is a professional skincare range therefore as you can imagine they can be on the pricey side. I am always trying to see if i can avail of samples before purchasing the real thing.



The treatment is €80.00, it's not cheap but it's not too crazy either. You can avail of series of 5 treatments for €400.00. It's also good to get face mapping done (basically putting your skin under a loupe to see what particles are on your face and what would work best for you)


On daily basis I also use cheaper products such as Primark face cream (not every day!) and their range of face masks are always great. (Example below).



For daily updates of what I am up to you can add me on Snapchat: joanna.stich or you can find me on Instagram under the same username.


Let me know if you'd like me to post more beauty related posts such as this one on here.


As Always,

Lots of Love,

Joanna xoxo

bottom of page